Cheap! Cheap! Cheap! The Birdies Lie!

Standard

581872_10151499725357022_1880142618_n559712_10151499725717022_1510988766_n249237_10151499725507022_553126835_nAt last! Some sunshine! An awesome spring day, full of potential! Good for the birds, good for the worms, stealthy worms at least, and good for all the flowers!

The back yard smells wonderful! It positively reeks! Rot, decay, decomposition, all of those words are very good ones to use when you think of composting. The mixture of broken down orange rinds,potato peelings,cabbage leaves and chicken manure  is being turned over again today, and it positively stinks! But it stinks of promise, in the same way that an early morning fart must smell to a constipated man. Something wonderful is in the offing! Very soon we will have another few wheel barrows full of rich black earthy fertility to feed the garden with! In return we can anticipate another year of bounty from the side- dressed rows.

Home grown just can’t be beat! It’s healthier, it’s fresher, its cleaner,  it’s cheaper.(Well, maybe not cheaper; that point is relative.) In my case it is relative to my relative, my sweet totally addicted- to- gardening husband!

“Mmm! Spaghetti Squash! It says here in the Stokes’ catalogue that it’s a great substitute for spaghetti.” he proclaims.

“No! Substitute isn’t a promising word.” I think as I remember the miserly cook in the Little Rascals episode who served up Plaster of Paris in water as a substitute for milk to all those poor little orphans.”

“It’s supposed to be just like spaghetti!” he repeats.

“If only it tasted like spaghetti” I think, “but I’m sure it would only taste like spaghetti if a person had a head cold and couldn’t taste at all, and then maybe it would just feel  like spaghetti, but taste like nothing at all, so why bother?”

” Why would I eat diet food if I had a head cold anyway?” I ask  irritably. “What?” Rolly asks, totally thrown off by my unrelated outburst.

“How about some nice purple cabbage?” Rolly asks. “Do you like pink cole slaw?” I retort, reminding him of the bowlful that sat languishing in the fridge for a week when I tried to up our intake of Power vegetables, after watching  a Dr. Oz. episode.

“What about trying haskaps again? The deer really liked them last year. Maybe we can find out what they taste like ripe if we put up a fence around them.Put fence on the Co-op shopping list please… and a bag of bone meal… and a roll of black 15 mil. poly to put between the tomato rows… and some clear 15 mil. and some PVC tubing to make a cover over them too.” “How are you going to water them if you cover them all with plastic?’ I ask… “Put some drip hose on the list too, OK?”

I always get excited at this time of year. We get to eat healthier, fresher, and cleaner. But cheaper? Well, that’s relative, and it’s his hobby, and it keeps him happy. And a happy hubby won’t get chubby if  he eats a lot of greens!

About Yvonne's Musings

Being the second of eight kids born in 11 years to my busy parents ultimately was a real advantage to me. I learned very early that if you wanted to be heard amidst all the noise the best way to accomplish it was to write your thoughts down. My first post to my mother," i hate skool. i cried at skool tooday!" was stuck with ABC chewing gum to the lid of the diaper pail, where I was certain that she would find it. Her attention quickly elicited in me a love of writing that has been life long. Seeking a wider audience I have decided to now, decades later, blog. Happy reading Mom! This is for you!

Leave a Reply

