To Our Youngest Brother

Standard

                    

After due consideration, when all is said and done,

We know it isn’t easy to be the youngest one.

So this is just to let you know how much all of us care;

Our family wouldn’t be complete without the last one there!

We know it isn’t easy to choose which path to take,

With such a lot of spectators to see each small mistake.

But don’t forget, we’ve been there, and sometimes stumbled too!

We’ve ripped our pants and scraped our knees just the same as you!

So when we get excited and vocal as we’re prone—

It’s just to spare you from the pain we once felt as our own.

If you followed any sibling’s path, exactly where they stepped,

You might just find some rocky place where they sat down and wept.

You would also find the river that they found so hard to forge;

You’d struggle through some quagmire, or tremble by some gorge.

So just what can we give to you, our precious youngest brother?

To prepare you for what lies ahead― the things you’ll soon discover—

A backpack of approval, of loyalty, and trust,

Guaranteed equipment that will never break or rust,

A compass, sure to aid you and to be your constant guide,

Carefully constructed with a core of family pride,

And a liberal application of the love, that family brings,

To soothe life’s little bruises and protect you from its stings!

(I wrote this many years ago when Don, my brother was just a teenager. I’ve posted it in honour of Brother’s Week. Don is one of the most amazing men I know. A wonderful Dad, a volunteer, and a fighter, he has battled MS courageously now for over 25 years, and I am proud to admit that on many occasions he is my counsellor!)

About Yvonne's Musings

Being the second of eight kids born in 11 years to my busy parents ultimately was a real advantage to me. I learned very early that if you wanted to be heard amidst all the noise the best way to accomplish it was to write your thoughts down. My first post to my mother," i hate skool. i cried at skool tooday!" was stuck with ABC chewing gum to the lid of the diaper pail, where I was certain that she would find it. Her attention quickly elicited in me a love of writing that has been life long. Seeking a wider audience I have decided to now, decades later, blog. Happy reading Mom! This is for you!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

