The Blog Hog

Standard

I have a dilemma today, because company’s on the way and I really have to admit that I have nothing much to say. My daughter  warned me days ago. “You’re pushing yourself too hard, with babysitting, writing, and working in the yard.” My sister said “Hey, Vonnie, this posting every day, you know you shouldn’t stress yourself  if  things get in the way.” And then I said “I do it ’cause it’s something I enjoy, and even if it stresses me, this writing brings me joy.”  Then this morning I got a phone call from my dear adoring mother who said “You know that post you did about your baby brother? Well, that was your other brother who was in the sewer hole.” I thought “Ye Gads! this blogging is starting to take its toll!” At the end of the conversation she said “You know, I might be wrong. Can you write one for the other one, just so they’ll get along?” I’m going to shut my lap top now; my company’s at the door; if I just sit here and type all night, they’ll think that I’m a bore. But don’t despair I’m coming back as soon as they go home, and maybe then I’ll treat you to an edifying poem.

Some time later:

I realize that I’ve promised you that I’d write something uplifting, but somehow tonight the poetry muse is not in the mood for gifting. I hear that she and the tooth fairy have been really on the outs. And of “bouts” and “doubts” and “louts” and such, I’m somehow stuck on “snouts” And what can I say about snouts you ask, that anyone would read?. Not much, unless the snout’s attached to the finest of his breed.

Announcing (with fanfare):

Siegfried’s Pig

Siegfried had a pig he’d had

Since both were in their youth.

The story that he told me—

He swore it was the truth!

When Siegfried had his pig freed

From its cosy barnyard pen,

The pig went running down the road

And then came back again.

Said Siegfried to the portly pig

“Just why did you come back?”

The pig said “Sig, you know it’s true,

Wise judgement I may lack,

But when I saw the butcher shop

Where yonder road does fork

I knew you’d save my bacon

For you said you loved your pork!

You’ve always been so kind to me—

A friend so tried and true;

If I were man and you were pig

I’d try to be like you!”

Said Siegfried to his pal the pig

“You really are in luck!

How would like to take a ride

In my brand new pick-up truck?”

About Yvonne's Musings

Being the second of eight kids born in 11 years to my busy parents ultimately was a real advantage to me. I learned very early that if you wanted to be heard amidst all the noise the best way to accomplish it was to write your thoughts down. My first post to my mother," i hate skool. i cried at skool tooday!" was stuck with ABC chewing gum to the lid of the diaper pail, where I was certain that she would find it. Her attention quickly elicited in me a love of writing that has been life long. Seeking a wider audience I have decided to now, decades later, blog. Happy reading Mom! This is for you!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

