Get ‘er Done!

Standard
two of our 11 baby Muscovy Ducks 1 week old.

Two of our 11 baby Muscovy Ducks 1 week old.

I never thought that it would happen. People told me it would. They said that when it happened to them, no matter what they tried it was difficult to get things moving again. I thought to myself you guys are crazy I’ll never have that happen to me. After all I live right, I don’t veg out in front of the TV for hours like maybe some of you do! (Self righteous judgemental rude inner pig that I am sometimes). Then I got my just desserts…. “Just desserts” Isn’t that a rather ridiculous way to describe a negative consequence of bad behaviour? If you do something wrong all you will be getting will be cheese cake, apple pie, double fudge brownies— just desserts! Boo Hoo!

Well, obviously this situation isn’t going to get any better for me being cranky about it. I’m just going to have to take measures to alleviate the pressure. “Go drink something! That might help!” the inner pig said. “And, Oh, While you’re up, maybe grab me a left-over rhubarb square. They were really good.’’

I’m back at the keyboard again, but now I’ve just noticed a bunch of shortbread crumbs and a splat of rhubarb topping on  my nightgown front. Hey you guys! Stop the criticism. I bet more than half of you read this blog in your nightgowns too! (or pajamas maybe) Please, no detailed comments in that regard need to be posted. I’d rather not know how you all look sitting there in front of your screens in the early AM. Maybe you didn’t need to know either.

Sadly, because I type at the speed of a well-trained monkey, and with about that level of accuracy a good part of the time, it will not be early A.M. when I finish this.

Well finally! It feels like things are starting to start move. Coffee is known to trigger that effect. Maybe it was Dr. Oz who said that. Yes! I can feel it happening now! The writer’s block is finally gone! Aah! Relief at last! I am well behind my normal days schedule now for posting number 84. That’s one post daily for the last 78 days, and 6 extra ones from days when I couldn’t resist a second one, since I began my blog.

Usually, whether I have any amazing thoughts, or memories, or circumstances worth mentioning at all I still am disciplined enough to “Get ’er done” as the farmers and truckers and ordinary folk I know say. Usually they are guys of course, and the “ ’er “  in “ Get ’er done” is usually some task requiring great effort, which for some unaccountable reason they have chosen to give a female designation. Just like their cars, tractors, boats, motors, trucks, and all the things in life that the guys around here depend upon, to get them where they want to go and get the job done for them. They are always called “She”.

“What’s wrong with her?”

“I don’t know. She wouldn’t turn over.”

“Maybe she’s dead.”

“Yeah, you’re likely right. She’s probably dead.”

Now, I’m asking you, is he talking about his wife or his car motor? Hopefully it’s his motor because if it’s a guy with a newly arrived paramedic I think I’d be looking for another paramedic. (And husband too, if I was the resuscitated wife!)

Speaking of husbands, and mine is not like the one I just wrote up at all, or should I say “created”. Well, neither word is right unless I’m a traffic cop handing out tickets or I have a God complex, but you get the picture. My husband is awake now, so I’ll cut today’s offering short. He has just cooked me a nice fresh egg, from one of our thirteen hens, and he has toasted me a slice of multi-grain bread, made as always in a batch of four loaves, by his own hands once weekly. We are going out to have a look at our new week- old baby ducks, who feel like they have already tripled in weight. There are eleven of them. Then I have to check out the four bunnies in their new accommodation, a cage-free run-around-for- fun hutch. Life is wonderful this morning. I am truly blessed!

Baby Brayden our new great-nephew falls asleep mid duck viewing

Baby Brayden our new great-nephew falls asleep mid duck viewing

About Yvonne's Musings

Being the second of eight kids born in 11 years to my busy parents ultimately was a real advantage to me. I learned very early that if you wanted to be heard amidst all the noise the best way to accomplish it was to write your thoughts down. My first post to my mother," i hate skool. i cried at skool tooday!" was stuck with ABC chewing gum to the lid of the diaper pail, where I was certain that she would find it. Her attention quickly elicited in me a love of writing that has been life long. Seeking a wider audience I have decided to now, decades later, blog. Happy reading Mom! This is for you!

One response »

Leave a Reply

